Luke 3:21-22 NKJV says, “When all the people were baptized, it came to pass that Jesus also was baptized; and while He prayed, the heaven was opened. And the Holy Spirit descended in bodily form like a dove upon Him, and a voice came from heaven which said, “You are My beloved Son; in You I am well pleased.””

Wow. What the voice of God must have sounded like!

This time of baptisms at the very beginning of Jesus’ ministry must have been so sweet. I imagine the smile Jesus must have had while people were coming in droves to examine their hearts. I imagine how he may have walked, steady and hopeful with joy as he found John amidst the crowd. Jesus’ time of ministry had come and John got to be so intimately a part of it. I think of how normal John’s day may have been until Jesus began talking to him. I think of all the startled people as God’s voice boomed down from heaven. I think of the overwhelming happiness in John’s heart when God confirmed who Jesus was. This moment in time must have been incredible.

I can only imagine that it might have been strange for John to continue on after Jesus’ ministry began. He waited for so long and then when Jesus came into public view, he must have felt some sort of fulfillment in all God had prepared for him to do. John 3:29 NKJV says John the Baptist says this: “He who has the bride is the bridegroom; but the friend of the bridegroom, who stands and hears him, rejoices greatly because of the bridegroom’s voice. Therefore this joy of mine is fulfilled.” Did he feel the finality of his purpose at this point? Did his zesty, wild man gusto continue until the moment his life on earth ended? Did his heart go back into the wilderness, so to say, into a waiting stance for God’s next step for him? He must have been overcome with joy at the knowledge of Jesus beginning his ministry.

The main thing I learn from John is that he is obedient to God’s plan, he follows wholeheartedly and carries out God’s will with gusto. He is also obedient to Jesus when he is face to face with him at His baptism. Jesus finds him amidst the crowd and reveals who he is to John. Although they were in the midst of a great crowd of people, the text almost describes it as a personal conversation where Jesus explains to John who He is and what John was to do. Jesus was patient when John pushed back about what Jesus asked him to do (baptize Jesus), explaining what was necessary.

John fulfilled his incredible part in God’s plan. I have to ask myself, when God searches me out in the midst of my day, will I acknowledge Him? When Jesus is talking with me about His plan, will I receive and act on what He asks me to do? No doubt, He will have to be patient with me along the way, but I know He will continue to pursue me giving me opportunities to be part of His plan. Like John the Baptist, I want to press into God’s plan with obedience and zest for fulfilling my part.

Leave a comment